2005-10-07

Rain rain and more rain.

Hi everyone.

Just a quick hello, I don't feel like writing too much. I'm in Modena today, I arrived this afternoon.

I got mega lost on the way here, because I think I took the train from the wrong station. Either that, or Eurail doesn't know whats going on in Como. None the less, I ended up getting here in one piece, although very, very wet.

It's thunderstorming and shit here! Disaster! Even my umbrella can't save me!

Other than that, things are okay. My brain is very tired, no one speaks English here, and it's hard being on my own in that situation when you're lost. Oh well. I'm adventuring, thats what I'm here for, right?

I was very sad to leave Menaggio, hanging out with everyone there was great, and of course Alberto was fantastic--- he even booked my hostel for me here in Modena! I had dinner last night at the hostel- amazing and delicious, as usual- and had some good broken English conversation with the staff and Alberto. I think that I may end up going back there in three weeks, for a night, before Nice. We'll see how it goes.

I made a deal with Alberto--- If I go back, and I don't speak in all Italian with him, I have to clean all the hostel toilets.

I don't know how I got myself into that one. He sure took alot of pleasure in telling everyone that I speak funny Italian and how he originally met me. Seriously, if you families that went to Italy in 2003 are reading this, let me tell you: Alberto loves you. He had so much fun.

Anyways, it's raining and it's pouring. I've decided to stay three nights here in Modena. The hostel is good and clean, with storage lockers and everything, so I decided to take advantage. I think I'll day trip to Florence tomorrow, and Bologna the next day.

From there, I head to Florence. I splurged and booked a more expensive hostel. It was rated really good, I know where it is, it's in a good location, and the safety rating is really high. THAT was the selling point. If it keeps on raining, I figure I'm really going to need to keep my spirits up somehow. Fancy hostel it is! I'm a little scared to get to Florence on my own and stay there, so hopefully, this place will be a relief when I arrive.

I updated my rail pass today. Oh man, just rail disaster left right and center.

I think thats about all I have to tell you all. Lovies to all of you. Be safe. Be happy.

Rain, rain, go away.... come back some other day... and bring some English speakers with you...

love, nicole 4:46 p.m.

previous | next



0 Comment On This Adventure!