2007-05-17

When I Say Update, You Say Party! Update! Party!

Update!
Party!

Hollllllla.

Alright cash money makers, I'm back in the updating game. I don't know what happened with that last entry, but it randomly cut off mid sentence... that is, if anyone did indeed read it.

So... Things to tell you.

Last Friday, I rented a car, dropped Melanie off in Noosa and have been spending my time along the lovely Sunshine Coast. Beeeautiful, even in the rain (the first three days... now it is lovely!). It's really finding a place in my heart, it's way prettier than the Gold Coast. More... natural and not so... commercialface. I stayed at dear Footy's house, which was just the thing I needed! His parents are pretty much the kindest people in the face of the earth, and Footy is pretty fantastic himself... I would recommend him to friends. They have a beautiful house, the world's most comfortable bed for me to sleep in, and didn't judge me when I was a hungover write off on Sunday.

Apparently, my downer, unfun time in Australia thus far was easily cured with Bundaberg&Coke, hilarious Aussie boys, girls who can drink intensely, nice happy people and smiling. I mean, there was other stuff in there, too, but thats what it all comes down to.

All in all... Footy's was fantastic. I got to see Cam, AND Nate (pure surprise). For those who are uninformed, those are a few of the Aussie boys that lived in Rossland this last winter. They are brilliant folks. They cheered up the very depths of my SOUL. I'm pretty sure Footy must be sick of me by now, but... I am over it.

For the record, there is this guy sitting beside me with the strongest cologne EVER. Like, it's burning my nostrils. And he has red hair. It;s burning my eyes. And the gold chains and earrings. Dear god the gold chains and earrings.

Okay, anyways, moving on.

If this entry trails off, it's because the smell of this man has overwhelmed me so much that I have fainted. Or left. Either or.

ANYWAYS. You can tell I'm happy, because I'm rambling.

Right, so. I left to pick up Melanie in Noosa on Tuesday, which was quite an adventure. Footy made me memorize EVERYTHING while I was driving in the car with him (his favourite bakery, troy's house, cam's house, nate's house, kings beach, moffat beach, the cool car park for the beach, the tourist carpark for the beach (which i should avoid), the place to get good chicken, where he works...) so now when I get in the car, I can certainly find my way to Troy's house, but I can't get out of Caloundra to save my life. So the trip was a little longer than expected.

Oh man! So I've been driving on the wrong side of the road!!! It's intense. At first, round abouts effing BOGGLED MY MIND. No joke. It was really really weird at first, but I'm kind of amazing now. I'm pretty comfortable, but now for some reason I get really confused as to whether I am driving north or south if I am looking at a map. I'm so proud of myself, though. This is why traveling is great- first time things like driving on the other side of the road. Brilliant.

So carrying on.

We went to see the Big Pineapple, Sunshine Beach- which was so cool because half the beach was storming and the other half sunny skies, and the water was this nice greenyblueteal colour. We also have gone to the Australia Zoo. I got to feed elephants!!! And CUDDLE with a kangaroo. And stare lovingly at a really dreamy zoologist--- he's almost hot enough to make me want to become one. No joke. I took a photo. Melanie also stalked Terri Irwin (Steve's wife) and saw lots of crocodiles in the crocoseam. It was all good. So many Koalas (contact me please if you'd like details on their mating habits... just ask Teresa, it's worth it) and giant snakes and tigers and sweet stuff. And they just walk around the zoo with like, wombats on leashes so you can pet them and love your life.

It's so fantastic. Feeding the elephants though was so awesome. Even if I got boogies on my fingers.

We've also slept in the car because we neglected to bring a tent. It sucked, a lot. Normally I actually kind of enjoy sleeping in a car. I am not opposed. I like camping. But we had no picnic table, one dying flashlight and a campstove all sitting there. And all i could think of was.... this is one pricey parking spot. But it wasn't even that bad until I had the WORST sleep ever, in the most uncomfortable car.

Note to Corolla owners: Don't ever try to sleep in your car.

That sleep was only trumped by last nights, when I slept in a bed that actually had a never ending abyss in the center of it. Seriously.

Apparently, last night I was having crazy dreams. All I remember was continously dreaming about falling and getting sucked into a hole (i will take a picture, no joke), but apparently at one point I was screaming at the top of my lungs "TERESA DON'T FALL INTO THE WELL!"

Yeah.

I talked to T last night on the phone and it was friggen amazing. Seriously. I was pure smiles afterwards. Top notch times, even if now I am eaten alive by bugs and I spent an hour last night on the street in a ridiculous outfit laughing incredibly loud by myself on a payphone.

I will tell you about my future business opportunites at a later time. Don't worry, they are so good I might even write a journal entry about it.

Bad Things:

I have begun to say 'ring'.

As in: "I will ring that man about taming a lion later. What's his number?"

And I have also said... reckon.

Yes. Three times.

I reckon that is ridiculous.

Gosh I feel like all of a sudden I actually have things to tell you all.

I just... am so much happier after seeing these guys and just getting away. I feel good again. I wish I had just had alone time this whole time and just adventured like this. It it nice to know that I have actually had FUN though, you know? It's good. Very good.

So apparently right now, when we head back to Surfer's Paradise tomorrow, there is a place for us to move in for a month in Palm Beach. It's pricey, more than I wanted to spend... but I figure it will be a place for me to have my own space, and find a job/organize life on my own schedule and in my own way. I'm looking at it as a good thing, and I mean.. it's only a month. Hopefully I can find SOME sort of job when I get there, just to hold me over until I can find a good place to live/job. I'm looking into harvest work or staying at a worker's hostel, but there are other options, too. I really like it up here on the Sunshine Coast, so we'll see what happens with that, and whether or not I can swing a little move up here. I just need to settle and earn some money, mega. Mega mega mega, or else I will be seeing you in a month.

MAKE THE SMELLY MAN GO AWAY.


I hope he might have accidently read that and is now considering a shower to rid him of the headachey- deodorant or whatever he is wearing. seriously.

Anyways.

I'm mega rambling. I will update more soon, with silly stories and minor details. It will be a good one. And I have taken a bunch of pictures, too, so this is good for the visually inclined and those who hate reading. I am talking mostly of my brother Evan, whom I don't think has read a journal entry in the history of this journal. haha. Oh well.

Right, I should be wrapping up before you're all gouging out your eyes with the pain of my retarded rambling.

I miss you guys so much.. talking to Teresa last night not only gave me smiles but DEEP DOWN SORROW for not being around her right now. I miss my lovely family and friendsicles. Those who actually read this, tell people I miss them. Thanks. Even if you aren't sure if I would miss them or not, tell them anyways. It will probably make their day, because I am that awesome.

Love to all of you. I am so excited to tell you silly stories.

*sigh* feels good.

Now... let's call Nate and beach!

Je suis content.

love, nicole 10:26 a.m.

previous | next



1 Comment On This Adventure!