2005-09-25

Hostel Moving And An Obscure Dutch Supermarket

Hey Everyone!

Well... Let's see what we have here. After spending my first few days in Amsterdam incredibly lonely and unhappy and complainy and wishing I could teleport home, yesterday I had a complete attitude/state of mind turn around and I've actually been... *gasp*.... enjoying myself.

Well, except for the bladder infection. I CANNOT FIND CRANBERRY JUICE IN AMSTERDAM. I swear to God, the dutch must enjoy bladder infections. They probably gave it to me at the airport as a welcome gift. Dang dutchies.

Anyways, the key to my turn around was two things: Talking to my Mommy on the phone and having her love me, and this email I got from a mystery superhero [hint: p-diddy], which I will now copy and paste a portion:

'I think this trip should be about learning to be okay by yourself - it is a very useful skill to have up your sleeve, and will come in useful when you spend your later years constantly tending to eternal flame at my graveside. seriously, if you spent all your time making great friends i think it would be a bit of a missed opportunity, to learn... stuff. nikki, ipod, and books. together you will take on the world!'

And you know what? He's perfectly right. I am *never* doing things on my own like this, and I thought I could tough it out for a bit, but I had been in 'must make friends or else you'll have no fun' state of mind. And honestly, the people in this hostel weren't very... friendly. So, it wasn't helping the situation. Anyways, yesterday I set out with the intention of having fun on my own, and I did just that. It was actually a very great day.

I went to the Rijkmuseum (spelling?) and looked around--- Lots of Rembrandt stuff, which isn't my favorite in the slightest, but it was still great to have the opportunity to see works like 'The Night Watch' in real life. The museum itself is being refurbished, so it was only the 17th century stuff I got to see [which isn't exactly my favorite period in artistic time], but thats okay. Like I say, the opportunity to actually see it all is what matters!

I had decided to walk to the museum type art district, thinking it would take me roughly *forever*, as it was on the very edges of my gigantic map. Well... 20 minutes and I was there. Everything is within walking distance here, it's great! I then did a little wandering and had some lunch, after which I hit the Van Gogh Museum.

Nicole Fact: I have officially decided I have a one museum a day limit. I am not as cultured as I thought. Doing more than that KILLS me. I get so bored.

Anyways. The Museum was actually pretty good, although I hate to say it, but I enjoyed the work of his contemporaries more than I did the actual Van Gogh's. There was amazing stuff: Manet, Monet, Gaugain, Seurat, Bernard, all of his buddies and fellow modernist artists. Seeing the real life Sunflowers and The Potatoe Eaters was also an experience, although the museum was INSANE packed full. And very high security. I seriously had to wait in a line up that went down the street.

Ummm, oh! After that, I met two Welsh boys and found an obscure dutch supermarket, which will only mean something to people who have read Danny Wallace's book, and I highly doubt anyone but Patrick has. So let's just say it was jolly fun.

The rest of the night I spent with a big black man from London watching The Prince of Egypt, and talking about how much he hates commercials and polished looking women.

Can I get any more random?

Anyways. Thats been the story. Yesterday was actually very enjoyable, although I spent alot of money to keep me that way [most expensive museums ever.] But that's okay. My sanity and happiness is worth it right now.

I also took a few photos. I think tomorrow is photo day, officially. Well, depending on what the area looks like where I'll be staying [I change hostels today]. On Wednesday, I leave overnight on a bus for Milan, which is where I get to meet up with Dorina, Olivia and Enza, and my Italian Zii and cousins. [Cousin, and almost cousins, for those of you not related to me and don't know the inner workings of my complicated family.] I'm very excited, although being on a bus for 21 hours with a bladder infection might not be my best friend. Whateva.

Lovies to all of you!

Oh! Face update!

[I know you are all waiting to hear about this with eagar antisipation.]

All my of scabs fell off today in the shower, leaving me look like I have some sort of strange bright-pink birthmark thing going on on my face. Dare I say I liked the full on scabbing better? Yes. I dare.

But it's healing. And it doesn't hurt anymore. I just feel less stunningly beautiful than my normal self. Thats all. Although, that still makes me UNREAL GOOD LOOKING.

Okay, NOW I love you all. Hope you're all safe and lovely.

love, nicole 9:25 a.m.

previous | next



0 Comment On This Adventure!