2005-09-23

Day 2 In Amsterdam.

Phew.

Apparently, I'm updating my journal more now that I'm in Amsterdam than when I was at Patrick's. How that works, I will never know.

Anyways. I had kind of a shitty night last night-- I was a little overwhelmed by everything and I cried my little face to sleep. But I woke up in the morning feeling better, and today, all in all, I've had a pretty good day.

I went and attempted to find the Anne Frankhuis today, with the main goal being to just find my way to Dam Square, the kind of center of Amsterdam. I DID find Dam Square, and from there I adventured a little bit. After being really anxious and scared the walk there, I finally smiled a real smile and took in the city for a minute, and it really is beautiful here. The canals make the city so cool, and the architecture is amazing. I first went and had coffee and sadly, finished my book. I spent about 2 hours in the cafe [not coffee shop, I already made that mistake... it's not just an alternate name, folks. ALL coffee shops are only about weed now. You can't be a coffee shop and *not* have weed. You're a cafe. Lesson for all of you... Haha.] and I watched the day develop into some beautiful weather. Yes, two sunny days in a row. And it's t-shirt weather. Take that, Glasgow!

After I got to Dam Square, I headed to the Art Gallery/Museumish type thing with a name so long I'm not bothered to type it out.

This was the second best part of my day-- the exhibition was of World Nature Art, and it was absolutly unreal. They had it set up in this brilliant way, showcasing nature-based art in four groups [aboriginal, asian, islamic and western] with 15 different themes. The Islamic art was my favorite, in particular the Iranian works. It's just so mind boggling the beautiful things they created, especially the traditional mini. paintings. Excellent exhibition!

From there, I got a little bit lost and found possibly my favorite thing in Europe so far-- An open air book market. It was sooo great. At almost every table was not only vintage books, but also boxes and boxes of vintage illustrations, postcards, musical posters, photographs, diagrams... everything. My eyes were as big as dinner plates as I was taking all the images in and my hands were just itching for hours to create beautiful art. Like... I was officially inspired. I made a promise to myself that when I get a house of my own, I will make a special trip to Amsterdam just so I can collect the things I saw today. That's right. I'm making a trip to buy old film posters and musical rosters.

After that I went to the Amsterdam Historical Museum, and let me sum it up in one word:

Shit.

It was HUGE, and full of art that I hate and other things I really don't care about, like ship building and the layout of the city. Seriously, just shit everywhere. And lots of china. Just pottery left right and center, surrounded by shitty 17th and 18th century portraiture. I was in hell, but I needed to pass the time and I couldn't really find my way out, and it was 6 Euro, so damn, I had to get my money's worth. Seriously. Just never go there. Ever. Unless you love Dutch paintings, and in that case, you're allowed to go, but someone should slap you in the face when you return happier than ever.

It was just awful. I'm sorry for venting on you, journal and readers.

Anyways, thats been my day today. Things are definitely getting better [if slowly] and I'm getting a little more into the swing of things. Last night I would have loved to teleport home and I wouldn't have thought about it twice. I was down and out. But I woke up feeling better and this afternoon my mood is improving more and more.

Something really weird that I didn't expect at all: I don't like being alone in Amsterdam and being a woman. It's a little bit uneasy for me. I think it's mostly because the canal that my hostel is along, alot of drunk/crazy/old/homeless/creepy/all of the above men hang out, all of whom feel the need to approach me or call out to me on the street. It's scary, but I'm learning to just walk a little faster and completely ignore it. I'm alarmingly untrusting of them all, mostly because they are just *so* dodgy. I think tomorrow I'll force myself a friend and make them atleast walk along the canal with me, it will put me alot more at ease.

I've also discovered [like I invented the wheel or something] that saying 'I'm sorry' in Italian and walking away does wonders for the black men that seem to enjoy approaching me at crosswalks, on the street, and in line ups. They give up nice and easy. *sigh* I need to make a friend, in the very least. Wish me luck guys. I think my face is setting me back. It's all pink and stuff, and with the neosporin, it constantly looks like I'm sweating.

I am the picture of grace and beauty.

Atleast in Glasgow, kids made fun of me outloud, and I had Patrick to hold my hand so that I felt less of a sideshow. Here? I just get awkward looks from people when I say 'Hi', like I should instead be saying, 'Hi, I fell off my bike in Scotland and it's healing, Please talk to me.'

Bah. Okay. I'm done being negative, I'm sorry.

Oh, by the way, I think I have a bladder infection. I just want you all to know that it hurts when I pee. And I've been peeing like a pregnant lady, 5 million times a day. I thought you'd all like that. *sigh* Maybe THAT is what is effecting my mood and confidence and LIFE. It's all my bladder's fault!

Okay. I'm laughing about it. Thats good, right? Right. Okay. I'm done the updating and venting and what have you. I swear, I did actually enjoy today [with the exception of the Museum of Hell, which has made me never want to go to another museum again] and I think tonight I will try my very best to make a friend. Haha. Thank goodness the bar is dimly lit....

love, nicole 5:21 p.m.

previous | next



0 Comment On This Adventure!