2005-09-22

Nerves--- AND an update!

Well...

It's my time to go, again.

I leave for Amsterdam this morning, and I have to say... I'm a big disaster of emotions!

I'm super scared, a lot nervous, anxious times 800 and I'm going to miss Patrick and Scotland to the power of about 1000000000. I'll demonstrate this to you in a math equation:

[29s + (100^4n)800a ]^100000000 = ME (remainder of 4).

I don't really want to say goodbye. BUT on a bright side- the adventure officially starts today, I fit EVERYTHING (!!!!!) I needed into my backpack with room to spare, and my face is looking just FABULOUS. Mmmmm, roadrash!

Lovies to you all. Wish me luck with my hostel situation when I first get there-assuming I find it- and I'll update my journal as soon as I can! IEEEEEE.

Stress. Ball.

And has anyone checked out the photo page yet???

*************UPDATE****************

Alright. I'm in Amsterdam.

I arrived. I got scared in the airport. I got lost at Centraal Station. I freaked out alot on the inside. A lot.

Alright, so after a good bye to Patrick--- which was very sad up until the point I read the messages and noticed his, now I'm GLAD I left--- I boarded my plane and got my bum to Amsterdam.

Patrick. This is the exciting bit for you.

As we were standing in line, Patrick said to me. 'Now, I want you to remember to practise your Scottish words.'

Who was on the plane but a Scottish football team, singing their little hearts out and shouting various slurs at passers by. And what's that? I understood it all! YES. YES.

I practically have my citizenship, if you ask me.

ANYWAYS.

Once I got to Amsterdam airport, which might be the most confusing place on earth, I wandered around lost for about 30 minutes- While, of course, looking very confident, Dad. I finally decided to risk it and get a train to Centraal Station, and as I was buying my ticket at one of the machines, this dodgy guy came up to me and started asking me for 'help with his money'. A second later, this other guy appeared behind me.

Thats right, folks, I, Nicole, escaped a possibly very bad stealing things situation. Proud of me? I mostly just kind of said 'no' and walked away really fast, but I'm pretty sure I was about to get pick pocketed. About ten minutes later I looked back around that area, and the same guys were targeting another machine. Phew!

Anyways. Using my directions I took a photo of off Patrick's laptop [crappiest idea ever, Pat. Just so you know.] I kinda got my way to Centraal Station, and after again getting lost [panic panic] I got onto the metro and found myself in the *general* area as the youth hostel.

Once again, raining in Scotland. HOT in Amsterdam. I was all Scotified, so as I spent my hour wandering the streets around the underground station, I was sweating my face off while carrying all of my stuff [which was getting heavier, and heavier, and heavier...]. But, I made it.

The hostel seems nice, it's in the middle of Amsterdam, and I think it will be good once I get a map and figure out my life here. Maps are already vital. WHY DIDN'T ANYONE TELL ME TO GET A MAP?

I keep you guys around for a reason, you know.

One downer: Everything in this freakin place is for people.... oh, I don't know, 11 feet tall? Definitely not 5'4". I feel like the biggest tool ever.

Anyways. I'm heading out, and wish me luck guys. So far from what I can see, Amsterdam is cool and beautiful. I'm looking out at a canal right now, and it's just so... happy. AND it's sunny. Ask Patrick-- that sunshine stuff really improves my mood. Alright, now that I'm Scottish, I don't even mind the rain.

Lovies to all of you.

Try to send some to me, too. I'm alone and scared and nervous to go out and explore. But thats what I'm here for, right? Right.

Oh, and I forgot to tell you guys---

I was on my own in Glasgow the other day, and a bunch of 9/10 year old boys called me Scarface.

I think that sums up how my face looks? Talk about being defeated. Sheesh.

NOW Lovies!

love, nicole 4:30 p.m.

previous | next



0 Comment On This Adventure!