2005-09-15

Big News Times Two

Top News Story #1:

Patrick and I bought a Love Fish!

First, we'll explain what a lovefish is. A love fish is the aquatic embodiment of our love, which we will raise as though it is our own child. We love her like a daughter and have treated her, in her two days of existance, like a queen. She even has shells from Bute, rocks from France and a castle in the world's largest fish bowl!

Her name is Lola and we bought her on Tuesday... from The Fish Nazi. The pet store owner was firstly appalled by the very idea we wanted to buy a smaller fishbowl without a starter kit. Therefore, he set us up with the deluxe fish bowl of sorts, twice the size of Patrick's head. Possibly four times larger-- I didn't take the time to properly measure. Anyways. As he thrust the fish kit in my direction [after yelling (!) at me for holding the inital bowl wrong] he tried to send us on our way--- Only to act like we just asked him to move Mount Everest 6 inches to the left when we said, 'Excuse me, we'll also be needing a fish....'

But, all in all, after a long walk home with our new love fish to her new living quarters. I think this one is going to live. Our love is strong, her water is clean, her two sets of back fins beautiful and her little bulgy eyes filled with, well, AWESOME. I love the love fish. Patrick is going to take very good care of her, and keep me up to date on our child while I travel with phone calls and pictures of her growth. I just hope that I don't miss her first words.... *sigh*

Top News Story #2:

This one isn't quite so exciting. Infact... well... it just freakin' SUCKS!

Yesterday, Patrick and I decided to go to Bute and go cycling to a couple of his favorite places. The day started off beautifully--- it seriously was just going awesome. I had a bit of a yucky headache and such, but all in all it was great.

Please, take a moment to admire the cuteness that is me and Patrick:


We rented a bike---

we just gave this guy �7 and he just let us take a bike. like, that was it. 'so, you'll be back by 6 then? alright' bizarre! ---

and went to get something to eat. Just over a freakin' mile into our ride... well... my pant leg was rolled up and got caught and... I fell. Into a rock. With my face. I now have freakin' rock wall face.

It didn't even hurt really right after it happened, I didn't think it was even that bad, really. Patrick was pretty calm, but there was some fear in my eyes. I touched my face and just blood blood blood! Ieeee! This old woman offered me a glass of water and we went and got me cleaned up... It wasn't until we stopped to let my rockface stop bleeding that it started to hurt. Mega. I completely ruined cycling day, didn't get to see any seals, and didn't move for about 3 hours. Patrick and I just sat there and he cradled me like a baby while he made fun of me in the World's Most Hilarious Ways. His awful making fun of sins were completely forgiven by the good care he took of me. He even took back my rented bike for me so that I didn't have to return it with half a face. AND he let me wear his fleece with the high collar, so that I could walk down the street with the collar up over my chin, my hat pulled down really low...

Let's just say I passed a young girl walking with her friends. She was so happy, but then she saw me.... and her face... just... dropped. She looked mortified. That was when I REALLY felt retarded.

Oh man, what a day. But Patrick bought me fish and chips and attempted to heal my wounds by cuddling my head on the ferry home.

AND THEN! We tried to watch Finding Nemo, so that we could teach Lola the ways of the world, and the format didn't work! GAH! I knew it would happen. So defeating.

But, on the brighter side, we got to watch my new favorite show on DVD, The League Of Gentlemen. I. Love. It. And, everything that Patrick said to make fun of me... well... it was freakin hilarious. Too bad I can't leave the house for a couple weeks....

The worst part about this picture is the conversation surrounding it:

'Patrick, can you take a picture so I can see what it looks like?'
'Sure Nik.'
'Ooh man, thats a really good picture.'
'Isn't it? It turned out very well...'
*silence*
'We're pathetic.'

Thats right. I was more concerned about the awesome picture than the actual facial awfulness going on. Mmmmm. Okay, i've written way too much. Pat just got back with some healing ointment, because he is just plain too good to me. Wish me luck that theres no sort of facial scarring. Bah. I'd also like to mention that when I called Mom last night, she laughed her head off for the full half an hour. Actually, we all laughed our heads off. Atleast we can laugh!

Lovies. Try not to get hurt everyone. One Rockface is enough in this world.

*sigh* How will I make friends when I'm on my own around Europe, looking like this??

love, nicole 12:30 p.m.

previous | next



0 Comment On This Adventure!