2005-10-10

Viva Firenza!

Ciao from Florence!

First of all, I am happy to report that the rain has stopped. The sun is out and everything!

Yesterday, of course, after I buy myself some new shoes, the rain stopped in Modena. I had already planned to do bugger all with my day, so I did just that. I went to a market, wandered around alot, and went to church. The cathedral in Modena is nothing special, but, it is, infact, leaning like no other. That was the best part of Modena, without a doubt. Perhaps the only good part of Modena that I saw this time around. I'd say it's (the church) off by, oh, I don't know, 2 feet if not more. It's crazy.

I watched Airport '77 dubbed in Italian with a Chinese guy and then headed out for a little bit of the night. I'm pretty sure he couldn't speak Italian. We were united for a moment--- the duration of the movie.

For some reason, all the people I've been trying to reach have given me the wrong phone numbers, or else, infact, fail to exist completely. I'm not sure what is going on, but it's impossible for me to contact people in Italy that I'd really like to! Perhaps it was simply Modena that was cursed.

Tyler, you'll be happy to know, I'm done complaining about the rain. Jerk.

Other than that, I don't know! The journey to Florence went smoothly. Oh, the janitor in Modena came up to me this morning and told me that I had a beautiful face; therefore, it made me a beautiful girl. Haha I only add in this information for Patrick, who has infact seen my facial disfigurement in real life--- either she is lying to me, or things are healing nicely.

The hostel I'm staying at is actually really nice, I think it will be worth the little bit of extra money. It's only a 7 minute walk from the Duomo and such, it's small and very clean. I don't think I'll meet many people there, but it will be great for relaxing! The staff is very nice (thank god after Modena's). Theres no lockout or curfew, which are most excellent features. Do you know what that means you guys??

NAPPING!!!

Fabulous!

I met some sweet girls from Argentina on the train today, they were pretty fun and I might head to Pisa with them on Wednesday. Somehow they roped themselves some guy who actually lives in Pisa to take them around (all on the course of an hour long train ride) and they invited me to come along. We'll see how it goes!!

Also, as a random sidenote:

I feel really sorry for the nice men on trains who offer to lift up my backpack for me. I feel so bad when their smiling faces are replaced with... grunting and popping veins from lifting the weight of a small man up above their heads onto a luggage rack. Incase any Italian train travelling men are reading this ---especially you, man in the Ray Bans today--- I am sorry. Thank you. You are brilliant--- again, this is you, Ray Ban man, because no one else has ever held my backpack for me while I put it on. Thank you.

Italy is doing wonderful things for my hair. I think this is the land of my people--- so many brown curly haired women. I feel so at home with my kind. Theres something about the air, the water, something that just makes it curl oh so right. Of course, this happens when I'm travelling completely alone and no one else can see it, but you guys are going to have to trust me that I'm simply considered incredibly hot looking here. I'm glad we all believe me....


So, thats the story, morning glory. I'm happy to be out of Modena, Florence is beautiful and happy and comfortable. Oh, just so you all know, they are doing some crazy construction around the Duomo right now, and you can't really see any of the doors of the baptistry (which is the best part!). Tomorrow I'm going in search of various artworks that I've written papers on this last year. Sounds exciting, no? Masaccio, hopefully I can find you.

I bet you all are so jealous right now. 'Oooh! She's going to look at art that she's researched! I wish I could go!'

This is what makes me cool, folks. It's probably also one of the reasons that I'm travelling alone.

Lovies!

[Also, a note for Mom and Dad--- I couldn't find Evan his shirt that he wanted today. I even went back to the same row of shops to find him a replacement! Disaster. You'll have to ask him what he'd like instead.]

love, nicole 3:58 p.m.

previous | next



0 Comment On This Adventure!