2007-04-21

Finally! The List You've Been Waiting For!

Well!

I honestly don't even know where to begin. Since I've been in Australia, things have just kind of been non stop... and I think it's been catching up to me, finally! Last night I fell asleep during the footy game (this, of course, being rugby league... apparently Australia is backwards and football ISN'T soccer) at about 8:30pm.

Because there is just so much to tell you, I think tomorrow (I still don't have the internet of my own) I will have to begin the giant recap of my last week so far (in chapters of course, for easy reading), but.... in the meantime, I present to you:

My List Of Random Australian Facts, Experiences, And Road Signs

- Aged Pedestrian Crossing
- I have touched a koala bear AND a kangaroo... IN THE SAME DAY!
- Dolphins! In the wild! Surfing!
- Saw the most Easternly Point of Australia (oooooh, so interesting).
- GIANT SPIDERS! IN THE SHOWER! In MY shower. And tonight outside on the tree, there was a huntsman spider as big as my palm (which thanks to my grampa... is a pretty big palm).
- Koala and Kangaroo Crossing/Warning signs
- Melanie has THREE prostitutes in her family, all of which are talked about quite openly.
- We went boating with Gary, who is very kind, but cannot drive a boat.
- We rescued some stranded surfers.
- Been to the world's most dated airport- Honolulu.
- Stayed a couple nights in a brilliant hostel, and drank wine on the beach of Coolangatta out of a paper bag in the moonlight. (note: melanie hates hostels, and will probably never stay in one again)
- Was asked "Want The Best Bikini Wax In Byron Bay?", as posed on the inside of my bathroom stall today.
- Attracted a real class act, a dirty Aussie with one black tooth and multiple piercings and also engaged to a real beauty of a woman, after a month and a half--- he said to Melanie, and I quote "Is that your friend? Dammmmn! I'm engaged, so I can't touch that. But that's really hard for me because I like that kind of woman." (Melanie: "Dirtskies")
- Witnessed some beautiful beaches.... and hot weather!
- One heck of a 14 hour bus ride from Sydney to Coolangatta, because all of my luggaged added up in too many Kg to fly. (shit. i'm such a bloody idiot.)
- Firsts of Melanie's that I have witnessed: First time eating shark, being on the ocean, staying in a hostel, being on a plane that can hold over 30 people, seeing a plethora of animals, surfers, eating lamb, going to a pub, watching rugby, discovering cricket, learning about the long line of prostitutes in her family (the sketchier side of family history-- all of the Canadian's unspoken secrets), first time outside Canada/USA (Montana, Utah, Nevada, Idaho and California only), first time on a train.... I'm like her Mother over here, people.
- Saw my first big jellyfish in the wild! ANNNND! A Pelican! Like in Finding Nemo!
-Tried Vegemite. And wanted to DIE. (All of you possible Aussies reading this--- what are you thinking?!?!?!)
- I have actually heard someone say 'you know, back in the convict times'


I think thats a pretty good run down for tonight... I am a sleepy little monkey with lots to do tomorrow.

I adore you all. I hope you are all happy and healthy. Please send a little love (all of you, do it) towards Rossland right now... We've lost a brilliant man, a good friend and a genuinely beautiful person. And for those of you there, please pass along my whole heart.

Lovies to all of you, and hopefully soon I'll get my act together and properly tell you all the greatness surrounding me.

It really is great here, you guys. I left snow for 30 degree weather--- I couldn't ask for more.

(Melanie is asleep right now in bed and farting up a storm. I want all of you to know the trials I am going through over here. Horrific. This is just the tip of the iceberg.)

love, nicole 9:40 p.m.

previous | next



0 Comment On This Adventure!