2005-10-12

Penis!

Well, I am back.

I had a shite day yesterday. Absolute shit. It should have been really good, but my mood was horrendous! I feel like a big baby now that I think about it, but I couldn't help it at the time. We won't get into it too much, my sour lonely mood is only for me (and a few suckers that answered their phones to hear me complain). Let's concentrate on what should have made good things.

I went and hunted down the chapel which holds some of Masaccio's best works. I saw them in the real, and it was amazing. I couldn't stop myself from grinning, not kidding. It was surreal.

Also, yesterday I went to the Uffizi. At first I was a little bit... umm... undecided going there, having been before, but it turned out to be brilliant. I saw works of art that... suddenly, I knew why it was all so important, and little things that made me feel like my schooling hadn't been for nothing. I saw alot of stuff, really, for the first time. It was fanastic.

Okay, so we'll just completely skip the rest of the day, and we'll move on to today.

Before I forget to write this, I have to tell you. Remember Carlos that I met on the bus to Milan?? Well, he's been anxiously awaiting me to come to Padova and visit him. He emailed me again today, and I have a little bit of trouble understanding his french. So, I threw it in a translator, and this is what came out:

'I am really impatient to re-examine you Nicole'

There was other funny stuff, but this is really the gem. I thought you would all enjoy it.

Anyways, today.

I jam packed it with tourist crap, art crap, and just pure being awesome.

My mood improved a ton after last night. So I set out nice and early. First, I went into the Duomo, just to see it again. It was alright, I like the Baptistry much better. Then, I decided to take one for the team and I climbed the whole way up the bell tower. Yes. I did. And it was marvellous! The view was amazing. Well worth the extremely steep and narrow steps.

Then, I... what did I do? Oh, right, I went to a comtemporary feminist art show. I won't bore you will the details, because I'm pretty sure I'm the only one out of all of you that would enjoy that. I was very happy, I was very inspired, and the little gallery guard was kinda hot.

It was one of the best shows I'd been to. Highly encouraged. For those of you who like feminist contemporary art.

THEN. Well, then I went the Pitti Piazza, which was the home of the Medici family in Florence. I wandered around the gardens, which suck this time of year, but the real excitement came later. My ticket ended up being good for something else, too...

... Mystisicm and Eroticism.

There was an art exhibit in one of the museums on the property about those two very things. Combined.

It was the weirdest, most bizarre thing I have ever seen.

I saw a Penis With Lion's Legs from the Romans. I saw 13th Century jewellry featuring people doing it doggy style. I saw lithographs of Greek gods getting it on. I saw paintings of lesbianism from the 15th Century.

I have been corrupted. I... I don't even know what to say about it.

I was laughing. Laughing out loud. ESPECAILLY when I saw the penis with lion's legs for balls. Oh man, that one killed me.

Other than that, between there I wandered alot, ate the best panini of my LIFE, ate some gelato, took in some sunshine, and sat on alot of benches. That was my story today.

Tomorrow, I leave for Rome. I'm not sure how I'm going to get to my hostel yet, but I'll get there. Lovies to all of you, I hope you're all happy and healthy.

love, nicole 7:38 p.m.

previous | next



0 Comment On This Adventure!